Tsukiji is the biggest fish market in the world, but its history is much longer than one might assume. When Tokugawa Ieyasu made Edo his base of power he invited fishermen from Tsukudajima in Osaka to provide Edo Castle with fish. The left-over fish was sold at a market cold Uogashi near Nihonbashi Bridge.
The Nihonbashi Fish market was devestated during the Great Kanto Earthquake on 1 September 1923 and relocated to Tsukiji where a modern facility was opened in 1935.
The market can be found near Tsukijishijo Station and Tsukiji Station. The Oedo Line stops at the first one and the Hibiya Line at the second one.
The market is divided in two parts: Jonai Shijo or the inner market. Here take the auctions and the most of the processing of the fish place. It is the actual licensed wholesale market. About 900 wholesalers operate small stalls there.
Jogai Shoji is the outer market and is a mixture of retail and wholesale stores, that sell seafood, groceries, restaurant and kitchen supplies, as well as many restaurants. Tsukiji is the place to go for people who love probably the freshest Sushi one can find in the world.
Tsukiji Honganji temple is a branch of Nishi Honganji temple of Kyoto and the head temple of Jodo Shinshu Hinganji-ha sect in Kanto district.
The temple was founded in 1617 near Asakusa but burned down in 1657 by the great fire of Meireki. Because new land given by Tokugawa government to rebuild was underwater, many fishermen of Tsukudajima and faithful followers reclaimed the land from the sea.
The new temple was called Tsukiji Gobo.(Tsukiji means reclaimed land) It was again burned down by the great earthquake in 1923.
The current building was designed by Chuta Ito, a professor architect of Tokyo University in an ancient Indian style which gave a unique impression as a Buddhist temple in Japan.